Liking

I sat for the longest time wondering if I should share this thought that used to bother me. Anyway there’s no turning back now.. Well, I used to sit around and mope for days trying to figure out why people didnt like me as much as I liked them until one day my brother walked in and said that people like them don’t matter. That made me feel better, but only for awhile because my biggest problem in life is my need to please. But, don’t we all just want I be liked?? 😦

Apart from my personal life I make it a point to work the L-factor as a sales person at work.

Below are ten ways to increase your likeability.

1. Go out of your way to say hello and to greet people. Ignore no one. 

2. Focus on the positive in everyone you encounter, reaffirm, and encourage them.

3. Master the art of being “YOU FOCUSED.”

4. Display class, professionalism and practice integrity at all times.

5. Say these words or phrases at least ten times a day.

6. Maintain a good sense of humor and laugh a lot.

7. Be compassionate, be considerate, and delight people when they least expect it.

8. Develop the ability to put yourself in the other person’s shoes.

9. Give people your undivided attention, maintain eye contact and LISTEN.

10. Give everyone in life, the precious gift every human being deserves: the gift of self esteem.

Have you tried any of those techniques mentioned and how was it?

7 comments
  1. bglxx said:

    No. 2, 7 & 10 I think are the more important ones. The world would be a much happier place if everyone practiced those three. 🙂

    You are loved, cousin! xoxo ❤

    • Aw thank you, and the world would be a better place if everyone just opened their hearts and spread a little love around. It’s okay we can start by doing it ourselves and paying it forward 😀

  2. Kat said:

    It would make more sense to not care so much about people and just be the best that you can be in that moment. If we were to go around creating anguish for ourselves, and they had no idea what we were feeling, it would be a ‘wasted’ attempt in trying to be liked…

    • Whoa, deep. But if increasing your likability makes you a better person then isn’t that something we should all strive towards?

  3. Chris. said:

    Haha I’ve learned that in conversations, in order to get the other to be interested in what you’re saying, you first have to show that you’re interested in what they are saying. To do that, establish eye contact before following up with utterances that build the convo. So number 9 here is the most important and effective for me I guess. But sometimes I do zone out even when I’m really trying to listen…

    And earlier this week we learned that salespeople use the “I like you” technique which is really effective! So maybe at the end of the day initiating/reciprocating are big factors in increasing likeability as well?

    Anyway I’ve always thought that everyone likes you haha don’t be too worried about that!

    • Oh yes! I do the ‘i like your skirt/shirt/top/hairband’ compliment when i see something i really like especially to customers. It makes them feel welcomed at the store and it usually puts a smile on their faces 😀 And me too, zoning out is one my talents. Haha

      Hmm, I’m not too sure about everyone liking me part, but it’s okay I can’t please everyone right? It’s actually really exhausting.

  4. kba said:

    So, if the person makes you zone out, should you ask follow up questions or interrupt them to cue them to be more interesting, I wonder?

Leave a comment